Posted in Life

New Year’s Resolutions Out! Simple Aims In!

Author’s Wife: “What are you doing darling”?

Author: “Oh just listing my New Year’s Resolutions”.

Author Action: Copy & Paste from last year’s document

Something is not quite right here….

Having stumbled into the office yesterday I started catching up with work colleagues and speaking to them about how their festivities went over the “Christmas” period.  One of my colleagues commented that he ate a lot of food, sweets and all other things that the doctor says you shouldn’t eat!  Then he followed that up with saying that it’s one of his New Year’s Resolutions to “lose weight”.  Then he followed that up with a long list of other commitments.

If you are like me, then over the last couple of years, probably  a week before 31st December, I’d draft up a list of New Year’s Resolutions but always find that they are really things that I have carried over from the previous year, hence I figured something somewhere is going very wrong.  Before I embarked on writing this blog, I thought I liaise with a web definition of the good old New Year’s Resolution.

A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to a project or the reforming of a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous. The name comes from the fact that these commitments normally go into effect on New Year’s Day“. – http://bit.ly/hWLP2N

So, I thought, I know there is a long list of changes/actions/aims I want to achieve, again most of them from last year, but let’s get real here and let’s put a few “solid” ticks in the box. 

I have therefore identified my top 3 for this year, small number, achievable and does not include lifestyle change, why you ask?  Well it was on my list for 2010 and the fact that I have changed my lifestyle to better my health, it’s now a routine which I continue to stick to so does not need another mention, regardless of how much I have eaten over the last 2 weeks.

My Top Three:

1. Develop my business idea this one’s from 2010, I was just too busy to push it but I’ll spend 2011 confirming if it’s hot or not, before someone else cracks it.

2. Convert my audio tapes again, from 2010, started in Q1 but failed due to time constraints.  I now have all the bits I need and my plan says I’ll have converted all 300 by end of Q2. 

3. Convert my VHS This is a new one, all my VHS are bundled in a box at my mum’s.  Again, all tools are in place, my plan says it’s a weekend activity to completed by end of Q3.

Well, that’s it, and in between all that remember the birthdays, kids clubs, short breaks away with the family and concentrate on my job.

Whatever NYR’s you have planned, I wish you all the best for 2011.

Author:

Someone trying to rip through the normality of life and expand a few horizons.

Leave a Reply

