Posted in Personal Observations

Faith to a 5yr old – a good thing to sponge?

….and so the seed of thought was planted!

Trivial Pursuit Question: “What name is given to energy taken from the Sun”?
My 5 year old son answers: “God

An innocent answer from an innocent soul. It got me thinking, what actually triggered him to answer that question in this way. Although he was unable to explain why, I nevertheless embarked on trying to understand his logic (as parents often do).

Had we been responsible in some way? Not wanting to make this post sound religious, it provided some evidence towards the fact that how we perceive the notion of God, at home, has been gently absorbed by our children. We have strong beliefs in our religion, Sikhism, however that bores out of our own understanding and respect.

…..and so there will always remain two schools of thought !

That God created the Universe and everything contained within it, or that the very existence of what we know and what we yet don’t know was the result of complex atoms, protons and big bang explosions (note I am not an expert in the Sciences or did I take the liberty to research the net just to form that last sentence).
I respect science and this something we cannot move away from. However I am also fortunate to have the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji (Sikh Holy Scripture) in our lives from which to derive logic and understanding.

…..and so there remains a challenge

I find it’s a hard balance to strike, I reason with my children that although how the elements function in this world and beyond may have a scientific explanation behind it, to a degree, there is definitely a force that navigates our destiny to an extent. Now you may say, if I can’t see, I can’t believe. But then we are not close enough yet to feel I guess. I am not a confused individual and neither do I want my children to grow up like one, but it’s important that they take the time to learn themselves with guidance from us, not to an extent that it becomes over consuming.

Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the Sikhs’ first Guru, explains that in this age, the age I am in now, will view those “mad” who talk about religion. Our lives are advancing so much so quickly that we may almost fall into the trap of thinking we are the core reason of this entire existence…but then I am still learning so what would I know…

This post was inspired by an inspirational moment triggered by an inspirational individual. Thanks

Author:

Someone trying to rip through the normality of life and expand a few horizons.

Leave a Reply

