Posted in Personal Observations

The Writing Mechanism (3 Elements of Pleasure)

If you want to know the origin….

If you want to know about the Timepiece….

Pen1

Imagine, all week you trudge up and down the trains, travelling to work, squashed in like a tin of sardines, nose sniffing and unwanted smells. Then, come the weekend, you nestle into your car and whistle down the narrow lanes of the countryside enjoying the freedom.  It’s not so much just the driving but that you have patiently waited all week to feel the rim of the steering wheel, the smell of the interior still so fresh, the quickness to change the music, the sound as you push down a little on the accelerator.

Yes it’s a weekend treat, but I am not here to talk about driving a car, but my most loved passion, writing.  However, like a child can’t learn to walk without the support of its parents, neither can one enjoy writing unless the object between your fingers has a sense of purpose.

The object was purchased over 8 years ago and my Mont Blanc is a reminder that I need to refrain myself from the habit of typing and write/jot my thoughts on paper by hand. As the ball of the pen kisses the paper, it transforms into a different mind-set, one where I want to keep writing until it’s humanly impossible to continue. It’s a statement that I will not give into everything that is electronic – I will persist with writing by hand.  “The pen is mightier than the sword” said our Guru’s, but sometimes we forget it exists. Regardless of however overwhelming this life becomes, hold your pen in your hand as your shield against the trending norm and amuse yourself at what looks like wiggly scribbles.

Over the past 8 years my pen has been subject to compliments, multiple falls (most my fault) and multiple home-based repairs.  But with all things in life, sometimes we need to call in the experts as we discover some limitations.  As I prepare to pin this post, my beloved pen sits in Hamburg awaiting repair from Mont Blanc HQ – I am simply missing it.  If anyone ever tells you “it’s only a pen”, do take the liberty to remind the person making that statement that the best sports people don’t just use anything.

Here endith the story of the writing mechanism.

 

 

 

 

Author:

Someone trying to rip through the normality of life and expand a few horizons.

11 thoughts on “The Writing Mechanism (3 Elements of Pleasure)

  1. Reblogged this on Zamboni Parade and commented:
    “The pen is mightier than the sword”
    -_-

    O.O
    WAIT!

    S-word
    word-S
    wordS
    The pen is mightier than the wordS.
    My God, it’s not just a pen it’s…
    It’s the power of words itself!
    *bows* All hail the pens! All hail the pens! Praise the pens!
    Witness the true power of the pen!

    1. Many Thanks for stopping by and commenting…and reblogging. That’s a nice spot. So many things can be settled by the pen. I think here in the UK we should elect our politicians based on their handwriting and who writes the best poem or short story. Have a nice week.

  2. You and I share similar pleasures in little things. I’m extremely old school when it comes to ethics and in doing things. I have a massive love for pens, especially fountain pens and over the last decade or so, I’ve amassed a small precious collection.
    I’m probably the only one who leaves please hand written notes when I’m dashing in and out of offices. It does down well with people and it has that personal touch to it. I must admit it’s been refreshing to read this post, especially now, when smart technology and touch screen have erased the need of a pen and paper.

    Soon, people will be going back to Universities and Collages to learn how to hand-write.

    1. Couldn’t agree more my friend. Indeed people will need to learn again how to write. There is a lot one can learn from looking at someone’s handwriting. Have a good week.

  3. Oh we won’t even talk about commuting to work on the train and the many hazardous things you smell or the weird things you see lol. I work in NYC, can you imagine when you would see D? LOL. And I absolutely loved this series my friend. You have to start another ASAP 😉

Leave a Reply

